Hawaiian Pulled Pork Nachos (or tacos)

Sticking with the theme of “warmer weather thoughts,” today I desperately wanted a meal that reminded me of the beach, or better yet, Hawaii! Last week, I was reading one of my favorite blogs, Iowa Girl Eats, where pineapple, pork, and BBQ were the key ingredients.

Now, I don’t ever buy pork. In fact, I don’t think I have ever bought pork, other than bacon. I knew I was entering uncharted territory, as the recipe called for pork butt. My initial thought…gross, but I trust my favorite blogger, so I put together my grocery list and headed to the store. Immediately, I went to the butcher area, where I immediately saw 50 different packages of pork, all of which I had no clue what cut was which! Finally, after staring at the meat aisle for another 10 minutes, I wandered over to the butcher and finally asked him, “what is a pork butt?” He was super helpful, and after a few moments, I was on my way to hunt down the rest of my grocery list needs. (**Just fyi, pork butt is actually pork shoulder!) 

Now, on to the good stuff:
ImageImageImage

Hawaiian BBQ Pork Nachos –> see recipe here!

I am not for sure if I will serve these with tortilla chips or just plain corn tortillas. I was able to copy a Pineapple Guacamole Recipe to accompany this tonight! Mmm….now to the hard part….waiting for the finished product!

Leave a Reply

